Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

About ACCE

ACCE is pleased to award members and colleagues alike for outstanding achievements in Clinical Engineering. Below are the awards ACCE is pleased to be a part of.

ACCE Advocacy Awards​

The ACCE Advocacy Awards have been in place since 1994. From the beginning, they were in place to recognize outstanding people in various aspects of our profession, whether members of ACCE or not. In the recent years, we have broadened the awards to include international colleagues and institutions that have advanced clinical engineering in their countries and regions. The reach and impact of clinical engineering continue to expand; we honor those who lead this growth. 

  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Marv Shepherd Patient Safety Award
  • Challenge Award
  • Tom O'Dea Advocacy Award
  • Professional Achievement in Management/Managerial Excellence Award
  • Professional Achievement in Technology/Professional Development Award
  • Antonio Hernandez International Clinical Engineering Award
  • ACCE/HTF International Organization Award
  • CE-HTM Champion Award
Student Awards

​​ACCE Student Paper Competition

The ACCE Student Paper Competition showcases the extraordinary talents of both undergraduate and graduate Clinical Engineering students through their development of a paper involving any area of clinical engineering practice. The award will be given to a maximum of 6 individuals currently enrolled in a CE or related college level program. One award in each division (undergraduate, graduate, doctorate) will go to a student in US/Canada and an international student.
The Mario Castaneda​ Scholarship is designed to promote the profession and encourage eligible students to pursue a clinical engineering career path. It will be awarded at the annual members meeting in June.

Joint Awards

​​ACCE-HIMSS Excellence in CE-IT Synergies Award

The award recognizes individuals who have best-demonstrated leadership in promoting or implementing significant synergies between the clinical engineering and information technology professions. Award recipients also must be members in good standing of both organizations. Nominees for the award are honored for professional or technical contributions to the professions, such as research, development of a new process or product, a paper of significance, and "trailblazing" work in a new application of clinical engineering and IT.

The recipient of the Excellence in Clinical Engineering and Information Technology Synergies Award is selected jointly by the Boards of Directors of the American College of Clinical Engineering (ACCE) and the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS).

The Robert L. Morris Humanitarian Award recognizes individuals who have applied healthcare technology to improving global human conditions. This award was established in 2001 in memory of Robert Morris, a founding member of ACCE and President 1998-1999, who was a leader in ACCE international outreach efforts in the developing world. The award criteria are focused on individuals who have planned, led, and participated in global CE efforts primarily on a voluntary or charitable basis and represent a positive role model with the passion for humanitarianism or through “Extra-curricular activities” as exemplified by Robert Morris.

The American College of Clinical Engineering is a 501 (c) (6) non-profit organization
2880 Bicentennial Pkwy, Ste 100 #249   Henderson, NV 89044   Phone: (610) 825-6067
© ACCE. All rights reserved