Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

About ACCE

Advocacy Awards

2021 Advocacy Awards  
                           The 2021 ACCE Awards will be presented in Charlotte, NC in June 2021 at the ACCE Members' Meeting/Awards Reception during AAMI Exchange 2021.

Call for Nominations!
Submit your nomination by Sunday, January 17, 2021.

Advocacy Awards Criteria


Lifetime Achievement Award

Award Criteria: This award is the highest award given by ACCE. It is presented annually to a single individual based on lifelong accomplishments and contributions to clinical engineering (CE) profession.

ACCE/HTF Marv Shepherd Patient Safety Award

Award Criteria: This joint award from ACCE and Healthcare Technology Foundation (HTF)  will be bestowed on a single individual or one entity who has excelled in the "safety" area related to the CE field. Potential awardees could be a national investigator of accidents, an inventor of a safety device, or an author of books on medical device hazards, etc.


Award Criteria: Non-members of ACCE are eligible to be nominated for this award, provided they meet the criteria for membership. A single individual will be selected based on his/her achievements in the field of medical technology within the CE field, for example, an individual who has contributed to the design of a "safe" environment or has shown significant activities in technology management and assessment.

Tom O'Dea Advocacy Award

Award Criteria: A single individual will be selected for this award, based on published articles,  presentations given, and efforts led which have advanced the field of CE – especially in promoting the profession to people in other related fields.

Professional Achievement in Management / Managerial Excellence Award

Award Criteria:  Nominees for this award will be evaluated on their contributions to the CE profession of a managerial nature, such as a paper of significance, solving of a problem or issue for the profession, or the application of new techniques to CE with measurable positive results. Only a single awardee will be selected.

Professional Achievement in Technology / Professional Development Award

Award Criteria:  A single awardee will be selected for his/her contributions to the CE profession. These contributions must be of a professional or technical nature, such as research or development of a new technique or product, a paper of significance on a technical issue, or "trailblazing" work in a new application of clinical engineering.

Antonio Hernandez International Clinical Engineering Award
Award Criteria: This award will be presented to one CE Professional or a group of CE professionals from a country in which CE is an emerging field in recognition of that person's or group of persons' extraordinary contributions to the advancement of CE in his/her/their own country or, to an individual or a group of professionals from another country/countries for his/her/their extraordinary efforts in supporting this advance.

ACCE/HTF International  Organization Award

Award Criteria: This Award is given to a professional organization outside of the United States and Canada that has enabled significant improvements in clinical engineering/healthcare technology management (CE/HTM) in its respective country after starting to collaborate with ACCE with the support from WHO, IFMBE, PAHO, and others. This award is sponsored by the Healthcare Technology Foundation.

CE-HTM Champion Award

Award Criteria: This Award will be bestowed on a single individual - a health delivery system leader. Typically a physician - who has championed CE and Health Technology Management (HTM) in a manner that has significantly heightened the status of the HTM profession in the U.S. and/or around the world.

The American College of Clinical Engineering is a 501 (c) (6) non-profit organization
19825 N Cove Rd, #175   Cornelius, NC 28031   Phone: (610) 825-6067
© ACCE. All rights reserved