Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Hall of Fame

CE Hall of Fame

CLOSED - Call for Nominations for the Clinical Engineering Hall of Fame - Class of 2018

Opens on December 5, 2017

The American College of Clinical Engineering is seeking nominations of individuals who had made outstanding and notable contributions to and/or the evolution and advancement of Clinical Engineering.

See eligibility requirements and nomination form to the left and email completed nominations to  Please be as detailed as possible and include supporting information, documents, and justifications.

The 2018 Inductees will be honored in June 2018, at the ACCE's Annual Members Meeting/Awards reception in Long Beach, CA.

Completed nominations and supporting documents must be received by February 17, 2018


The 2017 Inductees

Jeffrey Cooper, PhD Joel J. Nobel
Dr. Fennigkoh is inducted for his pioneering work in developing a medical device inventory inclusion algorithm that significantly reduced the maintenance and regulatory burden for many of the nation’s hospitals. He is also being recognized for his application of human factors principles in device investigations and the reduction of medical error.  Read more Dr. Wang is inducted for using the scientific method and quantitative data analysis to advance clinical engineering, for leading the opposition to unnecessary and overly burdensome regulatory control and, above all, for enhancing patient safety in the deployment of health technology. Read more

The 2016 Inductee

Malcolm Ridgway, PhD, CCE, FAIMBE
Dr. Ridgway is nominated for excellence in innovation, for influencing the direction that clinical engineering has taken over the decades, and for his impact on CE professionals, clinical users, regulatory authorities, patients and society in general with his fight for rational, evidence-based maintenance. Read more


The 2015 Inductees

Jeffrey Cooper, PhD Joel J. Nobel
Dr. Cooper is nominated for his leadership in Patient Safety, Medical Simulation, and CE in the US and around the world. Read more Dr. Nobel is nominated for excellence in innovation, influence on CE, and technology evaluation in the US and the world. Read more


About the Clinical Engineering Hall of Fame (CE-HOF)

The Clinical Engineering Hall of Fame (abbreviated as CE-HOF) is a recognition program and virtual museum established by ACCE with the purpose of celebrating the application of engineering and managerial skills to support and advance patient care through technology and honoring the individuals who made extraordinary contributions to this effort.
By recognizing the visionaries, leaders, and luminaries who helped to create and advance the CE profession, ACCE believes the CE-HOF can help the society at large to appreciate the essential role of these professionals within the healthcare environment. Without highly qualified, motivated, and dedicated CE professionals, it would be impossible to deploy technology safely and cost-effectively to prevent and diagnose diseases, as well as treat and rehabilitate patients in any part of the world. In addition, the CE-HOF allows students and others who are interested in exploring CE as a profession to understand and appreciate the challenges and rewards in pursuing this career.
The CE-HOF Nomination Committee (NC) has been established for the purpose of reviewing nominations and selecting deserving candidates for voting by the entire ACCE membership. The Committee is composed of 5 (five) members appointed by ACCE Board selected among its Fellow and Emeritus members. Each member shall serve for 3 (three) years with the possibility of being appointed only once; staggered terms will be developed. Currently, the Nomination Committee is chaired by Ray Zambuto, and other members are Thomas Judd,  Bill Hyman, Tom O'Dea and Malcolm Ridgway.

Each year, a limited number of nominees will be selected by the Nomination Committee for voting by ACCE members. The results will be announced at the ACCE annual meeting, as well as in official ACCE publications and on ACCE website. No monetary award or plaque will be offered. Instead, the recognition will be made in the virtual museum on the ACCE website. On the virtual museum, pictures, biography, documents, videos, etc. of the inductees will be posted, so the general public, CE professionals, and aspiring professionals can learn and appreciate the extraordinary contributions made by these pioneers.


The American College of Clinical Engineering is a 501 (c) (6) non-profit organization
5200 Butler Pike   Plymouth Meeting PA 19462-1298   Phone: (610) 825-6067
© 2018 ACCE. All rights reserved